Maintain User Roles

Content
  1. Manage User Roles


  2. Create New User Roles


The User Role determines the permissions and restrictions of each user in Connected Business. This means that the amount of access to the modules, forms and features of a user in Connected Business is controlled by the user role.

The User Role menu allows you to create and modify user roles and apply permissions or restrictions if preferred.

 

Manage User Roles

To manage user roles:

  1. Go to System Manager module > Customize > Role and the User Role dashboard will be displayed with the list of active user roles.

    Click Image to Enlarge

  2. Double-click on the user role you want to modify and the User Role form will be displayed., (e.g. Sales).

    Click Image to Enlarge

  3. You can modify a user role in the following ways:

    • You can restrict or grant access to and from certain modules or forms by moving modules between the Existing Module section and Selected Module section.
    • You can modify the appearance and function of forms and dashboard elements according to the user role.
    • You can set the plug-ins (modules, forms, dashboards, etc.) that will be included in the application according to the user role.

      For customizing the modules, forms,menus, dashboards etc. in the user role, refer to Customizations.

Set User Role Access to Modules

  1. From the User Role dashboard, select the user role you want to modify and the User Role form will be displayed.

  2. By default, the user roles have access to all modules/menus in Connected Business (unless specified otherwise during the New Company set-up).

  3. Select the modules you want the user to access by moving the module from the Existing Module section to the Selected Modules using the arrow controls in the middle.

  4. To include a module in the user role, click the Include button () or click the Include All button () button if you want to include all modules. To exclude or remove a module, click the Exclude button () or if you want to remove all, click the Exclude All button ().

Back to Top

 

Create New User Roles

To create new user roles.

  1. Go to System Manager module > Customize > Role and the User Role dashboard will be displayed with the list of active user roles.

  2. Click on the New User Role button and the User Role form will be displayed.

    Click Image to Enlarge

  3. Specify the details for the Role Code, Description and Access Level.

    Click Image to Enlarge

  4. Select the modules which the user can have access to by moving the modules from the Existing Module section to the Selected Module section.

  5. Click Save and Close to create the user role. Refresh the User Role dashboard and the new user role is added in the user role list.

    Click Image to Enlarge

Delete User Roles

  1. From the User Role dashboard, select the user role you want to delete and the User Role form will be displayed.

  2. Click the Delete button and select Yes to confirm deletion.

    Click Image to Enlarge

  3. Close the form and fo back to the User Role dashboard. Click the Refresh button and notice that the user role is now deleted from the list.

    Click Image to Enlarge

Back to Top

 

  • Monday, 26 November 2012